You are here: Home | The Council

The Council

stoke town hall

The Council

Stoke-on-Trent City Council is a unitary authority employing approximately 4,600 staff, serving our fantastic city, comprising of 6 towns (Tunstall, Burslem, Hanley, Stoke, Fenton, Longton). As our city motto says, we believe we are stronger together in creating a city we can all be proud of.

Our organisation has a fantastic team of dedicated council members and officers who are passionate and ambitious for our brilliant city and its future. Over recent years, our strategy and work with partners across the city have helped to completely revitalise and reinvigorate Stoke-on-Trent’s sense of self-confidence, purpose and direction. With an enthusiastic, experienced and effective senior management team, and a dynamic and ambitious political leadership, who are not afraid to be challenging and provocative, this is an exciting time for Stoke-on-Trent.

Our Leadership

The council is run by the Conservative group. Councillor Abi Brown is leader of the council. Councillor Daniel Jellyman is the deputy leader.

The full cabinet line-up is:

Our Vision

In our Stronger Together Strategic Plan 2020-2024, we set out our strategic vision and priorities for Stoke-on-Trent City Council and the wider city. Stronger Together has been shaped by the political ambition of the city council’s leadership, as well as the values and aims of the organisation. As such, it is as much a corporate plan for the council’s directorates and teams as it is a strategic blueprint for improving Stoke-on-Trent as a city.

You can read more about our Stronger Together vision - click here to view the document.

In order to help deliver our key strategic priorities we are currently looking to recruit to a key senior officer role, details of which are found on this site, alongside further information about our city and the council.

Further Reading